New 2018 MOT rule changes

 Published 16th June 2018
Driver Guides 

Did you know that MOT rules have changed? On Sunday 20th May 2018, the way in which MOT tests work in England, Scotland and Wales changed. There are now 5 main changes which you need to know about that affect cars, vans, motorcycles and any other light passenger vehicles.

1. Defect categories are now different

Any defects that are found during the MOT test are now categorised as being either:

  • Danagerous
  • Major
  • Minor

Each item found by the MOT tester will be catergorised depending on the type of problem and how serious it is. You will still receive advise about any items you need to monitor going forward and they are classed as ‘advisories'.

Dangerous - Fail
An item classed as dangerous will impose a direct or immediate risk to road safety or has a serious impact on the environment. You should not drive the vehicle until it has been repaired.

Major - Fail
A major may affect the vehicle's safety, put other road users at risk or have an impact on the environment. You should repair the issue immediately.

Minor - Fail
A minor item has no significant effect on the safety of the vehicle or impact the environment. You should repair the vehicle as soon as possible.

Advisory - Pass
An advisory item could potentially become more serious in the future and you should monitor and repair the vehicle if it is necessary.

A pass means that the vehicle meets the minimum legal standard and you should make sure it continues to meet it.

2. Diesel vehicle emission rules get tougher

There are now tougher limits for emissions from diesel vehicles that have a diesel particulate filter (DPF). All new diesel vehicles are fitted with a DPF filter which captures and stores exhaust soot to help reduce emissions.

You can check your vehicle's handbook if you don't know if it has a DPF filter. You can learn more about DPF filters on our website here .

The MOT tester will give your vehicle a major fault if:

  • Smoke of any colour can be seen coming from the exhaust
  • There is any evidence that the DPF filter has been tampered with

3. New items that are now included in an MOT test

There are various items that are now checked during an MOT test and include:

  • Tyres that are obviously under inflated
  • Contaminated brake fluid
  • Fluid leaks that pose a risk to the environment
  • Brake pad warning lights and missing brake pads or discs
  • Reversing lights on vehicles first used from 1st September 2009
  • Headlight washers on vehicles first used from 1 September 2009 (if applicable)
  • Daytime running lights on vehicles first used from 1st March 2018

There are also some smaller changes to how some items are now checked. Your local MOT centre will be able to talk you through these.

4. A new MOT certificate

The MOT certificate has a new look and will list any defects under the new categories so they are clear and easier to understand. The service to check an MOT history has also been updated to reflect the changes.

5. Certain vehicles over 40 years old won't need an MOT

Any have a car, van, motorcycle or and other light passenger vehicle over 40 years old will not need an MOT if they have not been significantly changed. That means you won't need an MOT from the 40th anniversary of when the vehicle was registered or manufactured.

You will need to declare your vehicle meets the new rules for not needed an MOT each time you tax it.

When it comes to leasing, these MOT changes will only affect those who have a contract term of 48 months (4 years) or more.

View our latest blog posts